Why Recipe Blogs Drive Me Nuts

Their terrible mobile experience.

Jyssica Schwartz
4 min readApr 29, 2021
Photo Credit

Listen, it’s more than just the fact that in order to actually get to the recipe, I have to scroll through a minimum of 1000 words on why a brisket recipe reminds the writer of her grandmother’s best friend’s orchard on a June afternoon 30 years ago.

Much more.

90% of the time when I am looking up recipes, I am doing so from my phone in the kitchen, ready to start cooking. Maybe I want to just get the measurement for something or need the spices. Or heck, maybe I need the whole recipe.

So, I open the page on my phone, usually one of the first 3 that came up from my “easy cookie recipe” Google search.

Then 6 annoying things happen

First, it takes forever to load the whole page and as I try to scroll down past all the stuff to get to the actual recipe, the page keeps skipping up and down and trying to load itself.

Secondly, at least one, if not more, video ads pop up and cover the words. My fat fingers try fruitlessly to close the ad and are successful about half the time. The other half, the stupid video ad moves for no reason and I end up either making it bigger or accidentally clicking it and a new screen coming up. THEN I have to go back and reload the whole page…

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com