Losing the Fun of Social Media

I just don’t enjoy it anymore.

Jyssica Schwartz
4 min readMar 1, 2021

I was in the wave of people who joined Facebook in 2004–2005, back when it was only open to college students. You could mark what classes you were in and post on each other’s pages and that was about it.

It quickly became the Myspace/Livejournal alternative, and within a few years, everyone was on it — including our mothers.

Hell, my 80-something grandmother is on Facebook.

In the beginning, each new social media was an opportunity to learn, explore, and be entertained.

I pinned jokes and how-tos and blog posts on Pinterest. I played with the filters on Snapchat. I even met my husband on a dating app (OKCupid) in 2010!

These days, I mostly use social media for my business. I have an author/public figure page, I have a signup link for my mailing list. I post when I have a new book coming out or an interesting article.

I doggedly wish people happy birthday and occasionally answer questions in freelancing groups.

I “like” all the baby and pet pictures.

I even have clients who prefer to communicate via Facebook Messenger.

But these days, I rarely post anything personal. Sometimes I’ll write something for an…

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com