Life Lessons From My Mother

And how they helped me build my business.

Jyssica Schwartz
5 min readMay 9, 2019
Mom and I at Wolftrap in DC for a show last summer :)

My mom is awesome. And so is yours. And yours.

We all love our moms.

Thinking back over my almost 33 years of life, I can pinpoint specific lessons I’ve learned from my mom — and how they have related to building and growing my business.

In honor of Mother’s Day and in honor of my mom, I’d like to share those top 7 lessons with you! We can learn from moms together.

Lesson #1: Stay True to Who You Are

My mother is a true example of loving yourself and staying true to who you are in life. She is uncompromising in her beliefs and her confidence and she makes everyone feel like they matter. She is a strong proponent of being confidently yourself and not listening to what others think.

Mom passed that confidence onto me, and it has allowed me to live very happily not caring what others think of me. Some people may not be supportive of you being an entrepreneur or may not understand it. That doesn’t matter. Your confidence in your skills and abilities is the most important factor when starting a new business. You have to believe in yourself even when things get tough.

Lesson #2: Do What Is Right

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com