How To Write & Publish A Kid’s Book

Instructions and information!

Jyssica Schwartz
7 min readFeb 12, 2021

As many of you may know (and some may not), most authors do not make a real living wage off of book royalties.

I wrote a post once about other ways to make money writing, and I still stand by it. However, I still write and publish books — and I love it.

I’ve also written about finding clients and pitching yourself and marketing.

But this post is not about that.

From my research, the two genres that DO tend to make the most money from book royalties are children’s books and romance novels.

In 2020, I made over $3k from book royalties and my Medium blog.

This was JUST from book royalties on my first 3 nonfiction books and Medium’s paid partner program.

Then right at the end of 2020, my fourth nonfiction book (and second traditionally published book) We Are Not Alone was released by my publisher.

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com