Are You Getting All the Tax Benefits You Deserve?

It’s that time of year again…

Jyssica Schwartz
5 min readFeb 17, 2020

OK, it’s almost the end of February, and if you’re in the U.S. you know that it is prime tax season.

I’ve written before about general taxes in my “how to adult” series here on my blog and then went into more painstaking detail in a piece specifically for freelancers, which you can see here for more information on what forms you need and what you need to know:

I did my own taxes for over a decade and then started working with a CPA in 2018.

I highly recommend working with a tax professional if you are not one yourself, as there may be tax deductions and credits you qualify for that you either don’t know about or aren’t sure about.

I started my business at the end of 2016 and did my own taxes for that year in the beginning of 2017. By 2018, I’d been a full-time freelancer for a year and was ready to make sure my business was being taxed correctly — so I went to an expert. And honestly, I was busy with work and just wanted to outsource my taxes.

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com